Skip to main content

Changes are coming

Short recap:  My husband (DH) is 63, retired on disability with his back about 12 years ago.  He also has heart problems which are stable right now, type II diabetes - also well controlled, and general chronic pain that's ongoing.  I've been working from home the past 10 years to be there for him and manage my mother's care at various facilities until her death in Dec, 2009.  We've been through a lot of highs and lows during this time, developed a comfortable routine, but falling farther and farther behind in finances and maintenance of home, property (40 acres) and equipment.

 

My home business, that was doing pretty well a few years ago, has barely limped along during the down economy, with my target market being local mom and pop businesses that took an additional hit from the oil spill debacle last summer.  My last few projects have been long-distance over-the-internet jobs, which are generally low-pay and only part-time hours.  Last year I explored finding a local PT job, just to augment our income.  I got several interviews, but no job.

 

A couple of months ago my stepson called to ask if we would consider deeding him a small parcel on our place so he could move here *for good*.  He's mid-40's, divorced and remarried, and also on disability with his back and having heart problems.  They currently live about 10 hours from here in another state, but his ex-wife and three kids live about an hour from here.  His new wife has full custody of a 12-year-old son and got laid off about the same time he got disabled.  She's gone back to school and just needs a two week intensive course to get state certification as a nursing assistant - which is in high demand here.

 

So the plan is for the three of them (stepson, DIL and her son) to stay in our home for a few months while they get set up to be our neighbors.  He has a firm commitment from his grown son to help do the heavy manual labor - which is mostly clearing a lot for them to use.  They've already sold their old place and have the money in hand to get the rest done:  utility hookups and buying a large mobile home.  His long range goal is to help me get caught up on all the maintenance issues and have more quality time with his dad (get him out of the house).  His own mom (DH's ex) also lives about an hour away.  She and her husband have both had health issues recently.  So this move will get my stepson close to all of his family, which will go a long way to improving his personal mental health.

 

What this means for me is a lot of stress short term, with the long term pay off being someone here with DH, or close enough that he's now okay with me working full time outside of our home again.  It will be a challenge finding something that pays well enough to be worth a probable commute as nearby opportunities are few.  I have a good relationship with DIL (she's a keeper), and am genuinely looking forward to having her and her son living next door.  He's already been helping me do "critter chores" when they visit and actually wants to take responsibility for them whenever I get that full time job.

 

I have more, but out of time for now... how am I feeling?  Apprehensive, but generally happy.

Thanks for listening.

-Barb

 

Original Post
×
×
×
×